How to Delete Photo Albums on the iPad or iPhone

A question that I get asked fairly often is “How can I delete entire photo albums off of my iPad or iPhone?”.  The answer to this is not as quite as straightforward as you would expect from an Apple product, which is probably the reason so many users are asking this question.

The bottom line is that if you create an album on your iPad or iPhone (using pictures from other albums such as Camera Roll, etc.), you can delete the entire album directly from your iOS device. This procedure is slightly different between iPads and iPhones. However, if the album was synced to your device from a computer, you will need to re-sync your device to remove the album. We have tutorials for both album deletion methods below:

How to delete an album created on the iPad

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPad
  2. Select the “Edit” button in the top right of the screen.
  3. You will notice a black “X” in the upper left of any albums that are able to be deleted. Press this to delete the album. Remember, only albums that were created directly on your iPad can be deleted from the device.
  4. A confirmation alert will pop up asking if you are sure you want to delete the album.  Select “Delete Album” and album will be deleted. The photos in the album will not be permanently deleted since they were taken from other albums.

How to delete an album created on the iPhone

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
  2. Select the “Edit” button in the top right of the screen.
  3. You will notice a red icon appear to the left of any albums created on the iPhone.
  4. Press this red icon once and then touch the “Delete” button that appears to the right of the album title.
  5. A confirmation alert will pop up asking if you are sure you want to delete the album.  Select “Delete Album” and album will be deleted. The photos in the album will not be permanently deleted since they were taken from other albums.

How to delete an album not created on your iPad or iPhone (created on Mac/PC)

  1. Connect your iPad or iPhone to your computer.
  2. Open iTunes if it does not open automatically upon connecting, which it should.
  3. Select your device from the left hand iTunes menu.
  4. Open the Photos tab within iTunes and make sure the “Sync Photos” option is checked.
  5. Now go through an un-check any photo albums that you do not want synced to your iPhone or iPad.
  6. Click the “Apply” or “Sync” button from the bottom right. Any albums not selected will be deleted from your device once the sync is complete.

I wish it was a bit more simple than that but that’s what is necessary to do when you want to delete albums from your iPad or iPhone.

Comments are closed.